The 3rd Edition of Bangladesh Premier League inaugurated

Bangladesh Finance Minister AMA Muhith inaugurated the tournament at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium at 8pm on Friday.


Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) President Nazmul Hassan delivered the welcome speech.

After the inauguration, the captains of the six BPL teams were called to the stage.

Soumya Sarkar came in place of Shakib Al Hasan as the Rangpur Riders skipper was not present.

The programme started with dancer Sadia Islam Mou’s performance at 5:30pm, about 90 minutes behind schedule.

Then Ayub Bachchu’s band LRB performed some popular numbers, which were followed by the exhibition of video clips of the past two BPL tournaments.

Band Chirkut’s performance was followed by a highly applauded series of songs by singer Momtaz.

After the inauguration by Muhith, Indian singer Kay Kay (Krishnakumar Kunnath) started his performance.

Then came Bollywood stars Hrithik Roshan and Jacqueline Fernandez with their glamour show.

The fireworks during the gaps between performances were not a consolation for a good part of the audience that faced harassment while entering the stadium. Most could not enter the stadium through the gate mentioned in their tickets.

A lack of coordination of security made visitors run from one gate to another.

Hundreds were still waiting outside at 7pm, as only gate No. 2 was open.

Security personnel severely beat up some visitors who tried to enter the stadium in a rush around 7:30pm.

Neither security personnel nor police agreed to comment on the matter.

Holding Tk 10,000 tickets in their hands, the people were shouting themselves hoarse but nobody cared to listen.