Dhaka Dynamites seal six-wicket win over Comilla Victorians

Dhaka Dynamites have launched their 2015 Bangladesh Premier League campaign with a comprehensive six-wicket win against Comilla Victorians.


The Dynamites restricted the Victorians for a below-par 110 for 8 before reching the target in the last over without much difficulty at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

The Dhaka franchise lost opener Shamsur Rahman in the fifth over of their chase. He contributed with 19 runs before falling to Mashrafe Bin Mortaza.

Nasir Jamshed (44) and captain Kumar Sangakkara (25) then played safely and kept their team on course for the win.

Sunil Narine brought the breakthrough by trapping the left-handed Pakistani opener leg-before in the 14th over after the pair had scored 55 runs together.

Comilla’s left-arm pacer Abu Hider Rony brought some respite by taking out Sangakkara and Mosaddek Hossain (7) in successive overs but the effort came too late as Dhaka needed just 6 more for the win.

Nasir Hossain top-edged Mashrafe for a boundary over the wicketkeeper’s head to finish things off with four balls to spare.

The Victorians had lost five wickets with just 36 on the board in the eighth over after electing to bat first on a pitch that had produced 375 runs in the day’s previous match.

Imrul Kayes (0), Litton Kumer Das (3) and Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury (4) threw away their wickets in the first three overs.

Young seamer Mustafizur Rahman toyed with Marlon Samuels (8), making the Caribbean miss the first four balls of his over and then clipped the top of his legstump off his pads with a signature cutter in the next.

After Darren Stevens (5) ran himself out, Comilla tried to stem the rot through Mahmudul Hasan (22) and Ariful Haque (13) but spinner Mosharraf Hossain soon sent them both packing.

Sangakkara played his part in the dismissals by stumping Ariful before holding on to an inside edge from Mahmudul.

Mashrafe (25) and Krishmar Santokie (21 not out) took their team over the 100-run mark with a 43-run eighth wicket stand.

Mashrafe walked back as his team’s topscorer in the last over off Abul Hasan. He cracked two sixes in his 26-ball innings.

Abul Hasan was the pick of the Dhaka Dynamites bowlers taking 3 for 29 in 4 overs. Mosharraf chipped in with two wickets.

Their Pakistani legspinner Yasir Shah went wicketless but conceded just 14 runs in his 4 overs that included a maiden.